Skip to main content

Major works and events

Date Title Location
Wednesday 29 August 2018 for up to 12 months Manchester and Salford Inner Relief Route improvement works Salford Inner Relief Route Monday 24 December to Saturday 5 January Christmas service changes Greater Manchester Saturday 15 December Sale Sharks v Bordeaux Begles AJ Bell Stadium Wednesday 12 December Manchester City v Hoffenheim Etihad Stadium Saturday 15 December Industrial action affecting Northern train services Greater Manchester Saturday 15 December Manchester City v Everton Etihad Stadium Saturday 15 December Sale Sharks v Bordeaux-Begles AJ Bell Stadium Saturday 22 December Industrial action affecting Northern train services Greater Manchester Saturday 22 December Manchester City v Crystal Palace Etihad Stadium Saturday 22 December Sale Sharks v Bristol Bears AJ Bell Stadium Wednesday 26 December Manchester United v Huddersfield Old Trafford Saturday 29 December Industrial action affecting Northern train services Greater Manchester Sunday 30 December Manchester United v Bournemouth Old Trafford Thursday 3 January Manchester City v Liverpool Etihad Stadium Friday 4 January 2019 Sale Sharks v Saracens AJ Bell Stadium Saturday 5 January Manchester United v Reading Old Trafford Sunday 6 January Manchester City v Rotherham United Etihad Stadium Monday 14 January 2019 Manchester City v Wolves Etihad Stadium Saturday 19 January 2019 Manchester United v Brighton Old Trafford Tuesday 29 January 2019 Manchester United v Burnley Old Trafford Sunday 3 February Sale Sharks v Newcastle Falcons AJ Bell Stadium Saturday 2 March Sale Sharks v Exeter Chiefs AJ Bell Stadium Friday 8 March Sale Sharks v Leicester Tigers AJ Bell Stadium Sunday 17 March 2019 Run Wigan Festival Wigan Sunday 7 April 2019 ASICS Greater Manchester Marathon Greater Manchester Sunday 19 May 2019 Simplyhealth Great Manchester Run Greater Manchester Wednesday 29 May 2019 Spice Girls Etihad Stadium Friday 31 May 2019 Spice Girls Etihad Stadium Saturday 1 June 2019 Spice Girls Etihad Stadium Friday 7 June 2019 Noel Gallagher Heaton Park Saturday 8 & Sunday 9 June 2019 Parklife 2019 Heaton Park Saturday 8 June 2019 Muse Etihad Stadium Friday 14 June 2019 Rod Stewart University Of Bolton Stadium Saturday 15 June 2019 Courteeners Heaton Park Sunday 16 June 2019 India v Pakistan Emirates Old Trafford Tuesday 18 June 2019 England v Afghanistan Emirates Old Trafford Tuesday 18 June 2019 Metallica Etihad Stadium Saturday 22 June 2019 West Indies v New Zealand Emirates Old Trafford Thursday 27 June 2019 West Indies v India Emirates Old Trafford Saturday 6 July 2019 Australia v South Africa Emirates Old Trafford Tuesday 9 July 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup Semi-Final Emirates Old Trafford Sunday 14 July 2019 Ironman UK Bolton Bolton Sunday 21 July Lancashire Lightning v Durham Jets Emirates Old Trafford Friday 26 July Lancashire Lightning v Worcestershire Rapids Emirates Old Trafford Saturday 3 August Lancashire Lightning v Notts Outlaws Emirates Old Trafford Friday 9 August Lancashire Lightning v Yorkshire Vikings Emirates Old Trafford Friday 16 August Lancashire Lightning v Birmingham Bears Emirates Old Trafford Monday 26 August Lancashire Lightning v Derbyshire Falcons Emirates Old Trafford Friday 30 August Lancashire Lightning v Leicestershire Foxes Emirates Old Trafford Wednesday 4 September 2019 4th Specsavers Ashes Test - Day One Emirates Old Trafford Thursday 5 September 2019 4th Specsavers Ashes Test - Day Two Emirates Old Trafford Friday 6 September 2019 4th Specsavers Ashes Test - Day Three Emirates Old Trafford Saturday 7 September 2019 4th Specsavers Ashes Test - Day Four Emirates Old Trafford Saturday 12 October 2019 Super League Grand Final Old Trafford