Skip to main content
Powered by Transport for Greater Manchester

Improvement works will take place on the A580 East Lancashire Road at the Lancaster Road and Worsley Road junctions from early January 2024.

Work will begin on Monday 8 January at both junctions as part of the Salford Bolton Network Improvements (SBNI) Programme and are due to complete in summer 2024.

The SBNI programme was agreed in outline in 2016 and following scheme development, consultation and approvals, this is the seventh package of work to be delivered in Salford.

More than 100,000 people in Bolton and Salford use buses for both work and leisure so the scheme is about improving bus reliability to get you to your destinations quickly and easily. The more reliable the buses, the more people will choose them as a way to get around which will help to ease congestion on the roads. This package of works will also provide improvements for pedestrians and general traffic.

For further information about the SBNI Programme in Salford, please visit Salford City Council's website.


The works will start on 8 January 2024 and are due to complete in summer 2024. The works will be taking place at both junctions at the same time to shorten length of the project and the subsequent disruption wherever possible.

Working hours will be Monday to Friday 8.30am to 6pm and Saturday 8am to 1pm.

There will be temporary bus lane suspensions and lane closures at both junctions throughout the works. To minimise disruption for residents and commuters the works affecting traffic flow will be carried out between the following hours:

  • Wigan-bound side of the A580 between 8.30am – 2.30pm
  • Manchester-bound side of the A580 between 10.30am – 3.30pm

A number of temporary left turn and right turn bans will be required for short periods at various stages during the project. These will always be accompanied by a clearly signposted diversion with access in and out of properties maintained at all times.

For the safety of commuters and the workforce, a 30mph speed limit will be in place through and between the junctions for the duration of the project.

Towards the end of the project, work will also require the closure to junctions overnight for carriageway resurfacing. More details on this will be provided nearer the time.


Worsley Road and A580 East Lancashire Road junction

  • Monday 15 April to Monday 29 April
  • Tuesday 14 May to Wednesday 29 May

The closures will be in place on one side of the junction at a time, between the hours of 7pm-6am, Monday to Friday, as follows:

Closure on A580 Manchester-bound & Worsley Road North

  • Monday 15 April, Wednesday 17 April, Friday 19 April, Tuesday 23 April, Thursday 25 April
  • Tuesday 14 May, Friday 17 May, Tuesday 21 May, Friday 24 May, Monday 27 May

Closure on A580 Wigan-bound & Worsley Road South

  • Tuesday 16 April, Thursday 18 April, Monday 22 April, Friday 26 April, Monday 29 April
  • Thursday 16 May, Monday 20 May, Wednesday 22 May, Tuesday 28 May, Wednesday 29 May

Worsley Road North, Worsley Road South and inside lane closures on A580

  • Wednesday 24 April

Lancaster Road and A580 East Lancashire Road junction

  • Monday 13 May to Wednesday 29 May
  • Friday 14 June to Friday 21 June

The closures will be in place on one side of the junction at a time, between the hours of 7pm-6am, Monday to Friday, as follows:

Closure on A580 Manchester-bound & Lancaster Road right-turn ban

  • Monday 13 May, Friday 17 May, Tuesday 21 May, Friday 24 May, Monday 27 May
  • Friday 14 June, Monday 17 June, Tuesday 18 June

Closure on A580 Wigan-bound and Lancaster Road

  • Thursday 16 May, Monday 20 May, Wednesday 22 May, Thursday 23 May, Tuesday 28 May, Wednesday 29 May
  • Wednesday 19 June, Thursday 20 June, Friday 21 June

The closures at A580 East Lancashire Road and Lancaster Road junction will be in place from just after Worsley Road up to the Irlams O'th Heights roundabout with the diversion leading via A6 Manchester Road.

Due to the need for good weather for the works to take place, there may be delays if there is heavy rain or very cold temperatures. All updates will be posted on the Salford City Council website

During the day works will continue at the junction as normal with lane closures in place and a 30mph speed limit reduction through the junctions:

  • 8.30am – 2.30pm on the Wigan-bound side
  • 10.30am – 4.30pm on the Manchester-bound side

Works which do not require any lane closures are done outside of those hours and between 8am – 6pm.


Lancaster Road and A580 East Lancashire Road junction

  • Wednesday 27 March – Wednesday 10 April
    No right-turn onto A580 Manchester-bound from Lancaster Road, Monday to Friday between 10.30am and 4.30pm.
    No left-turn into Lancaster Road from A580 Wigan-bound, Monday to Friday between 8.30am and 2.30pm.

  • Wednesday 10 April – Tuesday 23 April
    No right-turn into Lancaster Road from A580 Manchester-bound, Monday to Friday between 10.30am and 4.30pm.
    No left-turn into Lancaster Road from A580 Wigan-bound, Monday to Friday between 8.30am and 2.30pm.
    No right-turn onto A580 Manchester-bound from Lancaster Road.

  • Thursday 25 April – Monday 6 May
    No right-turn into Lancaster Road from A580 Manchester-bound, Monday to Friday between 10.30am and 4.30pm.
    Bus lanes suspended on both sides of A580.

  • Tuesday 7 May – Thursday 16 May
    No right-turn into Lancaster Road from A580 Manchester-bound, Monday to Friday between 10.30am and 4.30pm.
    A580 Manchester-bound lane closure, Monday to Friday between 10.30am and 4.30pm.